Building node without SSL

I’m trying to build node.js from source on Debian/wheezy. There’s an RPM but it’s two major versions behind. I got an error about SSL methods not being declared when compiling. No idea why Debian’s dev environment makes node’s configure think it can build SSL when it can’t (I have libssl-dev installed), but a quick workaround is buidling Node without crypto, via ./configure --without-ssl.


[74/75] cxx: src/node_crypto.cc -> build/default/src/node_crypto_4.o
/usr/bin/g++ -pthread -m32 -g -O3 -DHAVE_OPENSSL=1 -DHAVE_MONOTONIC_CLOCK=1 -DEV_FORK_ENABLE=0 -DEV_EMBED_ENABLE=0 -DEV_MULTIPLICITY=0 -DX_STACKSIZE=65536 -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -DEV_MULTIPLICITY=0 -DHAVE_FDATASYNC=1 -DPLATFORM="linux" -D__POSIX__=1 -Wno-unused-parameter -D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2 -DNDEBUG -Idefault/src -I../src -Idefault/deps/libeio -I../deps/libeio -Idefault/deps/http_parser -I../deps/http_parser -Idefault/deps/v8/include -I../deps/v8/include -Idefault/deps/libev -I../deps/libev -Idefault/deps/c-ares -I../deps/c-ares -Idefault/deps/c-ares/linux-ia32 -I../deps/c-ares/linux-ia32 -Ideps/v8/include ../src/node_crypto.cc -c -o default/src/node_crypto_4.o
../src/node_crypto.cc: In static member function ‘static v8::Handle<v8::Value> node::crypto::SecureContext::Init(const v8::Arguments&)’:
../src/node_crypto.cc:101:29: error: ‘SSLv2_method’ was not declared in this scope
../src/node_crypto.cc:103:36: error: ‘SSLv2_server_method’ was not declared in this scope
../src/node_crypto.cc:105:36: error: ‘SSLv2_client_method’ was not declared in this scope
Waf: Leaving directory `/usr/local/src/node/build'
Build failed:  -> task failed (err #1):
        {task: cxx node_crypto.cc -> node_crypto_4.o}
make: *** [program] Error 1
