Very simple python logging

I do a lot of quick and dirty Python scripts. One thing that bites me is trying to print useful data on exceptions, where the useful data contains non-ASCII and I’m trying to write it to sys.stderr and I get an exception in my exception handler, killing my program:

try:
    process(inputString)
except:
    sys.stderr.writeln("Error with input %s" % inputString)

UnicodeEncodeError: 'ascii' codec can't encode character u'\x81' in position 0: ordinal not in range(128)

Very irritating. One workaround is to use Python’s logging package. It’s a hugely complex configurable beast, but the default config is useful: print all warnings and above to stderr. And it handles Unicode sensibly.

>>> logging.warning('u"\x81"')
WARNING:root:u"▒"
>>> logging.warning('u"\u2022"')
WARNING:root:u"\u2022"

Not sure what it’s doing; maybe trying Latin-1 and escaping anything else? I don’t care if the output is mangled as long as it doesn’t kill my program.