softwareupdated (MacOS sucks)

I’ve lost track of all the confusing ways MacOS updates itself. But one of them that keeps biting me is that it insists on updating iTunes. I don’t want iTunes, I’ve set it to mode 000, I don’t want to waste my limited bandwidth downloading copies of it. Sometimes a popup appears in the upper right saying “updates available Install?” and there’s no way to see what it will install. So as a sucker I click Install, and suddenly here I am downloading iTunes.

The best part of all this is there’s no way clean to cancel the update. The App Store program will show the update progress bar, but the Cancel button does nothing. Using MacOS’ excellent Activity Monitor I can see the process doing all the downloading is softwareupdated. It ignores or catches ordinary kill signals. My only option seems to be a kill -9. Awesome.