running tcpcrypt on Ubuntu

Excited by the new TCPINC effort, I went to build and install tcpcrypt, a sample implementation of a proposal. The GitHub project has recent activity and the code mostly builds.

I had to install these packages to get it to build:
autoconf libssl-dev libcap-dev libnetfilter-queue-dev.

It runs, too, and installs OK. Funky way it works using iptables to redirect traffic. The tcpcryptd self tests to check.tcpcrypto.org worked, but using curl to load the check page at http://tcpcrypt.org/test.php didn’t. Turns out the problem was curl doesn’t follow redirects and that’s the only way you know the test works, “curl -L” or “wget” works. I ended up setting up an SSH tunnel to test from my Mac and was able to get http://tcpcrypt.org/fame.php to work correctly and register as #809 on the Hall of Fame.

I’m curious if anyone plans to use this code as the basis for a real implementation. If so would be worth my time to make the build process easier. Also maybe remove some of the swear words from the code :-P