Simple Javascript time series charts

I want to draw a time series graph in Javascript. This is one of the simplest kinds of regular data visualizations and all of the libraries I find to do it suck. I looked at this a year ago, is anything better now?

What I want is a library that will automatically assign axes and draw correct time series graphs. The time intervals are not regular. Also sometimes data is missing. Not zero, null. Remarkably, very few charting libraries seem to be able to handle these common requirements. Here is some very quick evaluation, I spent ~3 minutes on each library so may have mischaracterized something or overlooked some greatness.

  • Charts.js: too low level, really a graphics library for drawing colors in canvas
  • Flot: good ol’ flot, just seems too old. Maybe that’s foolish and it’s solid?
  • D3.js: great library but too low level. I don’t want to build my own axis and don’t really want to program at all, just declare data.
  • Metricsgraphics: promising library at the right level, but seemed buggy. I spent about 90 minutes trying to get a time series to render and depending on my Date range, either got a decent graph or got confusing SVG rendering errors involving NaN.
  • RickshawxCharts, Ember, and d3.chart look to all have very slow or no development. Rickshaw was promising, I wonder if it’s just “mature”.
  • Dimple’s time series seems to assume equal spacing
  • NVD3 has been around a long time and is still active. It’s kind of a sloppy project though. The example code on the site doesn’t match what’s live. Some of the examples kill Google Chrome when run. There are no reference docs. I give up.
  • Vega looks too toolkitty and not enough libraryish. It frames itself as an analog to Protovis or D3, and I already know one of those. Also no time series example.
  • new TauCharts looks promising.

I need to investigate Highcharts. It’s not free software, but is free for non-commercial use.

dygraphs is sort of promising. It actually plots my data correctly but the default style is ugly. Also I’m not wild about canvas. It does a lot of fancy time series stuff out of the box though.

dygraph sample