Mac screen capture: creating League of Legends highlights

I felt like a huge nerd today and wanted to record a video highlight from a League of Legends. Lots of steps here to capture the game itself, capture video and audio on the Mac to a file, convert it to something usable, then upload it. Here’s all the steps.

Generate content: record game replay

The service replay.gg will record all your League of Legends games for you. It’s terrific! Using it you can watch one of your games later in the observer client. I use this to get the exact game scene I want to capture.

Capture content: video and audio capture

The Mac does not make it easy to capture full screen video and audio. I used to use the commercial product Screenflick to do this but it’s pretty buggy. So this time I did the capture with Open Broadcaster Software, which is a free. The UI is a bit more hackerware but for my purposes it’s perfect.

OBS records video pretty much right out of the box. I tinkered with the Advanced Output settings to record at the bitrate of 10,000 (overkill) using the faster preset. Note that OBS is doing h.264 encoding live while you go, so it’s taking CPU power. The “slow” preset definitely interfered with my game framerate. (Screenflick records with a very fast, disk intensive codec and then re-encodes later, which is kind of nice.)

Audio is a problem. Update: see this second post about sound. OBS recommends WavTap but I couldn’t make it work. Instead I installed SoundFlower, which also works well with OBS. Basically SoundFlower installs a kernel module that’s a new loopback audio device. You use the Sound control panel to tell the Mac to make SoundFlower 2ch the default audio device. SoundFlower then passes that through to your actual headphones or whatever, while also making the sound stream available to apps. Note that starting with Yosemite it’s getting very hard to run custom kernel drivers in MacOS. Thanks a lot, Apple.

Now I have OBS recording movie files to my hard drive of whatever is on my screen. Yay!

Edit content

The next challenge is editing the capture down to what you want to share. I’m allergic to iMovie, and AFAIK there is still no good free simple “let me cut 15 seconds out of my video” GUI tool for Macs. I ended up using ffmpeg to do this with these instructions. ffmpeg lets you pick to the nearest millisecond, but irritatingly VLC won’t show you milliseconds in playback, so precise cuts suck.

Here’s the command I used to cut from 00:02 to 00:19 of my recording and re-encode it at decent quality. Unfortunately you can’t just use “-copy” in ffmpeg because that doesn’t properly trim the audio for some reason; you have to reencode.

ffmpeg -i obs.flv -c:v libx264 -preset slow -crf 20 -ss 00:00:02 -to 00:00:19 out.mp4

Man I’d like a simple GUI program that lets me watch the movie and set a start time, an end time, and press a button to do this cut for me.

Share content

Now you have an ordinary MP4 movie file you can share anywhere. I uploaded it to Streamable, a lightweight hosting / sharing service for video that plays nicely with Reddit and friends. They re-encoded it to a 2260 kbps vp8+vorbis file which still looks pretty good. In particular I think they kept my 60 frame per second source, much appreciated.