OpenWRT second impressions

I’ve been running OpenWRT for a few days now. I like it. I also don’t like it. I’m going to keep running it, and will probably install it on any new routers in the future.

The part I like is it feels like a “real Unix”. I trust that it’s going to do its job right, or if it doesn’t I have access to look inside and figure out what went wrong. Tomato has always been opaque, and if it rebooted itself or didn’t do something I wanted I felt powerless to understand or fix it. With OpenWRT it’s all just a Linux distro.

The part I’m on the fence about is that it’s “real Unix”. In particular, that it’s super complicated. The ipchains have some 100+ rules in them, which really are defining about seven “zones“, which really are 4 physical interfaces and maybe 6 aliased interfaces. It’s great that the system is so flexible, but then it also makes even simple things hard.

vnstatThe part I don’t like is that it’s a “real Unix”, complete with that awful lack of usability. You can configure everything but you also have to configure everything. That’s a grand old Unix tradition, see also: Linux-on-the-desktop. As an example, I’d like a simple counter of bandwidth used per month. There’s none installed by default. But here’s a list of 17 tools that might do it. Only a few of those have Web UIs, and only ~half of them are installable via the package manager. And none do precisely what I want, the best I could find is something that churns out hideous 1990s-style gd images. Of course I could build my own, it’s Unix! But I don’t want to build my own.

I think there’s a need for a new router firmware, a nicely packaged distribution based on top of OpenWRT. Take the stock OpenWRT and add the packages that ordinary home router users need. Maybe write / package a few other things, like the monthly bandwidth monitor I would like. Then stick them all together with a nice GUI that ordinary technical savvy people can use, not just Linux/networking experts. Tomato is the model for this, the core Tomato firmware was a beautiful, well documented product. Tomato-on-OpenWRT would be terrific. It all seems doable, OpenWRT is a strong foundation. The only thing I’m not sure about is how hard it’d be to build the web UI. Luci is pretty flexible as a foundation, I think what I’m describing could just be a skin and set of Luci apps. But not sure.

3 thoughts on “OpenWRT second impressions

      1. Comments are closed, so…

        X-Wrt is the old OpenWRT UI (and seemingly no longer in active development), replaced by LuCI.

        No convergence planned, to my understanding. Each Gargoyle release is based on the then-current OpenWRT stable release, so it’s sometimes a major version behind, but the Gargoyle author is still keeping up with the updates, rather than completely forking it, as with DD-WRT, Tomato, etc.

        For instance, the current Gargoyle is based on Barrier Breaker (14.07), but the current stable release of OpenWRT is Chaos Calmer (15.05).

        There’s a slow-burn effort to replace LuCI (which runs mostly on the router) with LuCI 2 (which runs mostly on the browser), so as to both upgrade the UI and task the router less.

Comments are closed.