MacOS 10.9 to 10.11 upgrade

I upgraded my 2011 iMac from Mavericks to El Capitan. Partly on a whim, partly because a lot of apps no longer work with 10.9. Mostly pleased with the result, Apple really does a nice job on not breaking systems on upgrades, migrations, etc. Still some notes:

  • Apple removed my fucking software. As part of the new security model Apple decided it was OK to delete all my files in /usr it didn’t approve of. Including my Homebrew install. Thanks, Apple! I found my purloined programs in /Library/SystemMigration/History/. I was going to rebuild Homebrew anyway because reasons, so meh, but… Weird to also find stuff from /System put there, stuff I never created.
  • MenuMeters broke. No surprise, it was using a weird hack. There’s a port of MenuMeters to 10.11 which works fine and no longer needs the hack, at the expense of losing the ability to rearrange the menu bar.
  • Seil didn’t break! That’s a funky kernel driver that lets me override CapsLock, was sure it was going to stop working.
  • I can no longer move the Dock to a corner. Thanks Apple.
  • The alt-tab popup  now shows on my secondary monitor. Apparently it shows up where the Dock is. I want the Dock on my secondary, but the Alt-Tab on my primary along with the menu bar. Sources: 1, 2
  • League of Legends isn’t running completely smoothly. I see occasional 0.1s pauses. It’s not unplayable, but it’s not right. It’s mysterious, not easy to reproduce / isolate.
  • Ever since my iMac got a hardware repair something made noise in the case when high contrast stuff scrolled on the screen. Weird, I know, I assumed it meant something wasn’t properly shielded anymore and EM was leaking into the speakers. That problem is now gone!?
  • Every time I plug in my phone to charge it, the unwanted Photos app launches. Found a solution which requires running the photos app enough to uncheck a thing. Remember when Microsoft used to exploit their operating system to promote their other products and everyone got angry, up to the federal government? Why does Apple get away with even more aggressive self-promotion?
  • my sshd stopped running. I had to renable it via Sharing Preferences
  • Despite the trend to flat design, Yosemite added some tacky transparency effect that makes menus harder to read. Here’s how to disable it.

Homebrew. For my own notes, the output of “brew leaves” from my old system. I’m installing fewer of these things; in particular no octave or gcc. Installing this time to /usr/local/homebrew. I don’t like it installing in /usr/local/bin, etc; been burned by that going wrong.

bash-completion bcrypt clens cloc cloog duti exiftags fdupes ffmpeg
homebrew/fuse/fuse4x gcc homebrew/science/ggobi gist git grc icu4c
iftop iperf iperf3 jbig2dec jq homebrew/dupes/less homebrew/dupes/libpcap
libvo-aacenc mg mobile-shell mp4v2 mtr nmap node homebrew/science/octave
optipng ossp-uuid p7zip par2 pgdbf postgis pv pyqt python python3
q homebrew/dupes/rsync s3cmd homebrew/fuse/s3fs sshuttle unison
unrar wget wireshark

Packages to install this time:

bash-completion bcrypt exiftags ffmpeg gist git grc iftop iperf iperf3 jq homebrew/dupes/less mg mp4v2 mtr nmap optipng p7zip par2 pgdbf postgis pv homebrew/dupes/rsync s3cmd unison unrar wget

Everything installed with no drama except for postgresql (and postgis). It has some bug building in Homebrew related to libreadline and doesn’t seem to build with just the command line tools. Installing the full Xcode via the App Store fixed it.

osxfuse and sshfs didn’t install right via brew cask; simpler to download the installers and run them myself.

One thought on “MacOS 10.9 to 10.11 upgrade

Comments are closed.