MacOS unzip is ancient and busted

Tracked down an OpenAddresses problem with our primary data product, a 3GB zip file. MacOS unzip can’t unzip it, producing errors like this:

skipping: us/il/macon.vrt         need PK compat. v4.5 (can do v2.1)

The underlying problem is MacOS El Capitan (10.11.4) distributed the ancient unzip version UnZip 5.52 of 28 February 2005. This version does not work correctly on files > 2GB big. The usual recommended solution is to install p7zip via Homebrew and use that to unzip the big archive. A lower impact option is to install the Homebrew dupe for unzip, which is UnZip 6.00 of 20 April 2009. That’s a bit awkward since being a dupe, Homebrew won’t symlink the binaries by default.

This is not the first time I’ve wasted working around Apple’s awkward user space tools. The less file reader is also an outdated version, and last I checked was compiled with weird options like not respecting the LESSKEY environment variable.

I really should just stick to Ubuntu.

One thought on “MacOS unzip is ancient and busted

  1. Yeah, I would too, but I don’t want to give up the log battery life I get from my rMacBook Pro. I don’t really see better options then the Mac hardware.

Comments are closed.