Hawaiian Homelands: slippy map

I got curious about the details of the Hawaiian Homelands geography so I made a slippy map version. Patience on the first load; the basemap takes awhile. Purple overlay are the homelands (click for name), white lines are the historical Ahupuaʻa divisions. The basemap is Mapzen’s Walkabout style, a nice terrain map.

I’m feeling super ignorant looking at this data without really understanding the history or current situation of the Hawaiian Homelands. A friend recommended the book Hawaiian Blood. As a humble mapmaker I realize really what I need to do is work with an expert on Hawaiʻi, keep myself confined to journeyman geoprogramming.

But anyway I looked around, some interesting sites:

  • Waimanalo on Oʻahu. I love this shape, the terrain map shows how it tracks the ridgeline.
  • Honokawai. Google’s aerial imagery shows the hole is a reservoir. Not sure about the meandering slice out of the middle, it looks like a wooded ravine or river.
  • Waiohinu. Some individual parcels in a golf course development.
  • Airports: Hilo and Kalaeloa. It looks like the airport was dropped on top of the homeland, I have to think there’s some history there.

Production notes

I cobbled this together starting with Mapzen’s excellent one minute map tutorial. They’ve built a Leaflet extension that makes it super easy to add Mapzen’s base maps (vector rendered!) and map search. On top of that I just added a couple of custom GeoJSON layers with Leaflet-AJAX.

As before, data comes from the State of Hawaii Office of Planning. I converted it to GeoJSON like this:


ogr2ogr -f GeoJSON -t_srs crs:84 a.geojson ../ahupuaa.shp/ahupuaa.shp
python liljson.py -p 6 a.geojson ahupuaa.geojson