Modern USB devices

Today I spent 30 minutes trying to get the exact right USB cable. I bought a USB 3.2 gen 1 external hard drive I want to plug into a Type-C port on a PS5. The best match cable I could find is a USB 3.1 gen 2 cable.

Here’s where it gets complicated. The cable is Micro-B Superspeed to Type C. That’s the big Micro-B with basically two cables; not the single small one. The cable has “SS 10” printed on it which is a promise it’ll do 10Gbps. I’m guessing the drive is USB 3.2 Gen 1×1, which is SS 5 or 5Gbps. There’s a chance it’s USB 3.2 Gen 1×2 which is 10Gbit but is not called SS10. In that case the USB 3.2 Gen1x2 device is probably not 10GBps compatible with the USB 3.1 Micro-B SS/10 cable. It should presumably fall back to 5 Gbps.

Given the drive is spinning rust, a 5 Gbps interface is about 50x faster than necessary.