Windows customizations

I’ve now set up a second Windows box. I was in a hurry and didn’t take notes, but from memory here are some of the specific tweaks I made in addition to installing normal application software.

I sure wish Windows had a clean way to store these customizations and copy them to a new machine. MacOS is much better; almost everything is localized to your home directory and Time Machine will help you set up a new Mac.

I thought I’d be clever and copy my roaming profile over to the new computer. That worked for some things like Discord and Slack. But lots of configurations are stored in other places. Cmder still stores its config files right in the program directory for instance, which seems like a good idea if you’re using it as a portable app but otherwise is not a good thing. And some applications settings are buried in the registry and I don’t know of an easy way to extract the ones you can safely copy over.